Posts Tagged ‘Timeline’

10,000 BC approximately The end of the ice age melts water enough to separate the land mass between modern-day mainland Australia and Tasmania.

1642 Abel Janszoom Tasman (of the Dutch East Indies Company) is the first European to sight Tasmania. He names it Van Diemen’s Land after the governer-general of the Dutch East Indies (modern-day Indonesia). {The original name for Tasmania has been referenced often in popular culture.}

1772 Europeans start to settle Van Diemen’s Land, first the French, then the British.

1825 Van Diemen’s Land becomes a colony on its own right.

1830 Black Line” campaign to round up Aborigines started. Protector of the aborigines, George Augustus Robinson, attempts to move them to Flinders Isand. While Black Line fails, many Aborigines do move to Flinders Island.

1830 Port Arthur, Australia’s largest penal system, was established.

1836 Charles Darwin visits Tasmania as part of his round-the-world trip.

1856 The name officially changes from Van Diemen’s Land to Tasmania.

1869 Truganini, possibly the last full-blooded Tasmanian Aborigine, dies.

1877 Port Arthur, Australia’s largest penal system, closed.

1901 Australia becomes a commonwealth, and Tasmania becomes a state in Australia.

1947 World War II European migrants move to Tasmania for work.

1997 Tasmania is first state to formally apologize to Aborigine community.


Read Full Post »

9000 BC (approximately) Migrants from Asia are thought to have crossed the land bridge that formed during the Ice Age and eventually made their way down to Brazil.

1502 Rio de Janeiro discovered by Portuguese explorer Gaspar de Lemos

1555 French settle the area, call it France Antartique

1567 City of Rio de Janeiro founded by Portuguese and the French are expelled

Late 1500s Rio de Janeiro becomes an integral part of trade route between Europe, Africa and Brazil.

1720 Rio de Janeiro’s importance grows as gold and diamonds are found nearby.

1763 Rio de Janeiro becomes the capital of colonial Portugal.

1808 – 1821 Napoleon’s troops invade Portugal, Portugal’s royal family flee to Brazil and make Rio de Janeiro the capital of the entire Portuguese Empire.

1825 Brazil becomes an independent country.

1840 The first carnival is celebrated in Rio de Janeiro.

1889 Brazil becomes a constitutional democracy.

1930 Revolution of 1930. Brazil moved towards more of a dictatorship with politics mirroring fascist European nations at the time. During WWII, the government sided with Germany, while the citizens sympathized with the Allies. After German U-Boats attached Brazilian ships, Brazil declared war on Germany. After the war, Brazilian leaders created a more liberal government allowing even opposing parties to participate.

1945 – 1964 Brazil’s Second Republic

1960 The capital of Brazil is moved to Brasilia.

1964 Military coup leads to a military dictatorship in Brazil

1985 Brazil moves towards re-democratization.

Read Full Post »